Pregnant after 35

3rd U/S @7w3d measuring small :(

I'm so sad today after coming back from the RE's office. Seems that LO is measuring 6 days behind. I am 7w3d but measuring 6w5d. There was a heartbeat which is really positive but she says I have about a 70% chance of miscarriage. I have another u/s on Monday. My RE says we'll know a lot more on Monday.

Anyone have any positive stories of "catching up" at this stage of the game and going on to have a healthy baby?

Re: 3rd U/S @7w3d measuring small :(

• First, I'm going to say, what do I really know? Only what I've read and stories I've heard. I'm not a professional. It's just been my experience that some doctors are kind of doom and gloom. That said, that's only 5d behind. I think thats in tolerance. What was the HB? I was told to expect miscarriage over the weekend at 5w3d. At 6w3d, I hadn't miscarried, and baby had a heart rate of 120bpm. I'm now 32w on Friday. A heart beat is MORE than a "positive" sign. It's a GREAT sign. It doesn't mean you're all in the clear, but it certainly lends toward viability. I'd ask for a second opinion. A lot of babies measure small. From my first ultrasound to my 20w anatomy scan I've measured anywhere from a week behind to a week ahead. It's just a guideline. Even now, at 24w, I was measuring 25w5d, and at 31w, I was measuring 31w0d. 

Good luck, and keep us posted.

• Thanks for sharing your info. The U/S tech was positive and said the hb was strong but didn't give me a bpm. My RE who came in late after a surgery and was going by the pictures of the U/S was the bearer of bad news. I've been getting an u/s every week. The LO certainly looked much bigger to me, even had the "C" shape this week instead of the circle or peanut shape. I'm just so scared because this is what happened at my last  pregnancy which ended in miscarriage. She said I was 6 days behind, not 5. 

imageFyreFlyeRush: