VBAC
Options

XP: In hospital natural birth with VBAC?

I would like to have a med-free VBAC but plan on delivering at a hospital. I spoke with my OB today and am feeling bummed. Essentially she said that if I want a natural delivery I need to stay at home as long as possible because if I come to the hospital it is essentially policy for them to do an epidural and continuous monitoring because it is a VBAC. She said if I show up at 8cm, they obviously wouldn't push an epidural on me so to try to stay home as long as I can. I plan on staying home as long as possible and laboring there anyway, but heck, I've never done this before, what if I think I'm almost ready and I show up and am only 4cm. I understand I can refuse the epidural and continuous monitoring, and I plan to, but by nature I'm not an adversarial person so I was hoping for more of a supportive situation.

If you had a natural birth VBAC was your OB ok letting you labor without continuous monitoring etc? Wondering if this is pretty much standard policy with VBACs or if it is my OB/hospital. On a side note, one of the reasons I chose her was that I heard she doesn't rush to c-section. With the boys she would have delivered vaginally even if baby B was breech (they were both transverse so I had to have a c-section anyway). 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: XP: In hospital natural birth with VBAC?

• Options