New to The Bump
Options

To Be Or Not To Be...

Hey There Ladies,

I'm new to this portion of The Knot and I guess I just needed to vent a little bit about all the pent up emotion I have inside regarding my pregnancy...situation.

I never thought that I wanted to have kids of my own. I have a 5 yr old step-son and making another baby right now just doesn't seem convenient or ideal, especially since my husband and I have only been married for about 5 months. But, the last couple of weeks I've been feeling extremely pregnant.

I'm on the Mirena IUD and have read that there is only an 8 in 1000 chance of getting pregnant with it inside of you. But, I have also read a number of different pregnancy forums and relate to the symptoms quite well. My husband, having gone through this before, thinks he knows my body well enough to know i'm pregnant.

For the last 1.5-2 weeks I've had headaches every day, nausea and upset stomach all morning until about 1 p.m., heightened sense of smell, on and off sore breasts, excess gas, extremely tired, and beyond emotional. Plus, I have craving things that I NEVER eat. 2 days in a row now Ive wanted hot dogs and jello. I'm definitely having cramping and some "pressure" on my back end. I randomly smelled tuna in my car today and I wanted to throw up. Yesterday, my own driving made me dizzy.

I have an appt with my OBGYN on Friday and I'm so anxious... Either way I'll be slightly disappointed and yet happy. It just seems like the answer is so far away... 

Re: To Be Or Not To Be...

• Options
    Have you tested with a home pregnancy test?
  • Options

A few things

Don't rely on a forum of Internet strangers

Don't rely on what your husband of 5 months thinks he knows

Why haven't you taken a home pregnancy test??? You should NOT be pregnant with an IUD. Test now.

Are you even late for your period?

PMS symptoms and pregnancy symptoms can be very, very similar