Health & Exercise

Body Pump

I have taken this class 2-3 times a week for the past 2 years and plan to continue doing so through my pregnancy.  Any ideas on how to modify the exercises for pregnancy?  Also wondering when I need to turn my bench into an incline for the chest and tricep tracks.  Thanks!

Pregnancy Ticker

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Body Pump

• You can incline your bench whenever you feel like it.  I always incline mine as it targets my chest better for me and helps keep me in proper alignment.

It would be a really good idea to ask the instructor what he/she thinks.

Good luck!

Baby Boy born on 1/14/13
  • Hi, I'm a certified BP instructor.  Incline the bench around 16 weeks.  Other than that, same rules for bending/twisting apply as with any other exercise.  And, you'll likely want to drop some weight, especially for the back track (#4) as your belly gets bigger.  As always, listen to your body! I intend to instruct as long as possible while pregnant. =)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

• Loading the player...
  • I'm a Bodypump instructor.  I taught my last class when I was 41 weeks pregnant with my DS :)

I started inclining the bench around 16 or 17 weeks for chest and triceps.

I also started doing the back track with plates instead of a bar sometime in my third trimester because I couldn't clean and press without bumping my belly.

Some portions of various ab tracks (reverse curls, I'd just cue instead of doing them), but I could still do a lot of the track.

My weights just naturally decreased as time went on.

imageimage Ashley Sawtelle Photography
  • image1fish2fish: