Working Moms

to apply or not to apply...WWYD?

Hi everyone.  I am almost 18 weeks pregnant with my first child.  I graduated from nursing school back in December and took the licensing exam yesterday.  If everything goes well, I will have a license number to apply to jobs with in the next week and a half or so.  But I am really torn about what to do and would appreciate any advice or suggestions...

I was hired at my current job, as a nursing assistant, while still in school, back in May.  Because I was in school at the time, I only worked weekends.  Now, whether it is because I am pregnant or whether it is because they assumed I would be leaving to pursue a RN position, my current job has hired another nursing assistant for weekends.  She was nice enough to agree to working only every other weekend, so I could continue to work some.  (This has all been a long story, which I won't get into the details.  I really feel like I was screwed, since I made it clear to my current job that I planned to continue working throughout the pregnancy and after receiving my RN.)

Regardless, I am on the brink of being able to apply to nursing positions at hospitals.  Given the economy and the small town that I live in, jobs are very scarce and thus competitive.  I know it is illegal for companies to discriminate when hiring, but I still think it happens, especially given the situation I am in currently with my job.  I do not look very pregnant; however, I would feel dishonest not coming clean after being hired (if that happens) and before accepting a position.  My husband, sister, and mom seem to think that if I am not hired, I will only be hurting any future chances that I may have with the hospital.  They all agree that if a potential employee is brought in for an interview and is not hired that they are generally not interviewed again in the future.