C-sections

How early do doctors schedule c sections

I just found out i will most likely need a c section this time around. I have symphysis pubis dysfunction and the risks of natural birth seem not worth it. Anyway when i had DS1 my water broke at 38w6days well some people say they dont schedule c sections till 39 weeks. That doesn't sound soon enough for me, especially since this will be my second baby. 

So how far were you when the doctor scheduled your c section? 

imageImage and video hosting by TinyPic Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: How early do doctors schedule c sections

• I am an OB nurse and the recommendations is to not schedule Csections until 39 weeks.  Studies show that babies born at 39 weeks do much better than if they were born even a week earlier.  Not to say that if you baby is born at 38 weeks they won't do just fine, but that is the newest protocol.  Unless there is a medical reason to do one earlier, then 39 weeks is the time to be scheduled.
  • Yea, most doctors schedule at 39 weeks.  That is when mine was scheduled for DS (he was breech).  I had him at 38 & 1 because contractions started and the little booger was still breech so they did the section at that time. 

PPD/PPA Mom...it has been super hard, but I'm making it! Slow steps...
    Mom to Carter (6), and Calianne (1).  
    Proud VBAC, natural birth, breastfeeding, cloth diapering momma!

• Loading the player...
  • Most insurance and hospitals won't allow for c-sections to be scheduled prior to 39w unless there is a medical reason.
    Lilypie Angel and Memorial tickersLilypie Third Birthday tickersLilypie First Birthday tickers
    Photobucket
  • 39 weeks is the recommended unless there is a medical necessity.  i'm having mine at exactly 38 weeks.  i got pg when DD was only 8 months old, and had a previous c-section.  the MFM and my OB were concerned about my scar, so they felt it was necessary.