Military Families

Moving and Work

I wanted to see if anyone else is in the same boat as I am. I finished my master's degree back in 2008. Over the last four years I have instructed at the college level and worked within my field. I feel like just as I am getting into a position for a promotion it is time to PCS again. So in the next few months we will moving again. 

As I am getting my resume ready to go again moving every 4 years screams "military spouse" and while I am very proud of being a military spouse, I feel like being a military spouse going into a professional interview is career suicide.  

Is their any other spouses out their that have professional careers that suffer because of military moves? 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Moving and Work

• I'm with you. DH and I married a little under a year ago so this is our first PCS. And of course, I accepted a major promotion about 2 weeks before we got our official orders. I work in advertising sales and have fought tooth and nail to get up the ladder and now it feels as if it's all for nothing and I'm back to the drawing board. I love being a military spouse, but I feel as if my career is basically on hold until DH retires. Lucky for me, we only have 3 years left!
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • We have 10 years left :( I am actually thinking about going back to get my Doctorate so I could start my own practice. I just hate the thought of more school. Moving is so hard when you have a career. Congrats on your promotion!! :)
  • Loading the player...
  • Have you thought of applying with one of the Universities that work with military families?  I too have my masters, and I teach with University of Maryland University College.  There is also Central Texas College.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Image and video hosting by TinyPic