Birth Stories

easy L&D w/ NICU stay

I planned on working until my due date of Dec. 12.  I'm a teacher and that was during the last week before the winter break started.  On Sunday, November 27, I was having contractions throughout the evening and night.  They were sometimes painful, but not consistent and I was able to sleep most of the night.  The next day at work, the contractions continued and I just felt really bad. I wasn't paying much attention to the timing of them though....

I got home around 4:30 from work and did a few things around the house.  Around 5:30, I attempted to get comfy on the couch and watch some TV and I felt a warm trickle.  Went to the bathroom and was pretty sure it was my water so I gave the doctor a call and she told me to head to L&D.  I brought along a waterproof pad to sit on in the car because I figured there was more fluid coming and boy was I right!  As soon as I sat down, there was a HUGE gush.  I actually went back in the house to change my pants.  We got to the hospital around 6 and I was 5cm and 70%.  I got an epidural after about 2 hours at the hospital.  I started pushing around 12:15 AM and my DS was born at 12:57AM.  Labor was quite easy thanks to the epidural, but I did tear.  He latched right away, all was well and he stayed in the room with us for a couple of hours.  When they took him to the nursery for his bath, etc, I was moved to a PP room.  Around 5AM, they were supposed to bring him to us and we were instead visited by a neonatologist.  He was having issues with his oxygen saturation and actually stopped breathing and required oxygen.  He was taken to level 2 NICU instead.  I was absolutely devastated as this was totally unexpected.