Preemies

Preemies with heart surgery?

Hi Ladies,

This is my first time posting on this board, but I thought this would be the place to come. I am just about 32 weeks and have been fighting off PTL for the past week. Nothing seems to be working very well, so everyone's preparing for an early delivery.

Lo will need heart surgery for an interrupted aortic arch, a large VSD and a small aortic valve. I know this isn't very common, but has anyone been through this or something similar...or any heart surgery? Just wondering how preemies do with this kind of major surgery.

TIA

Re: Preemies with heart surgery?

• First, welcome to our board. Its a great group of supportive women. Check out the blog we've put together (link in siggy).

I don't have any personal experience with heart surgery but our two best friends from the NICU both had babies with heart issues. One had surgery to close her PDA and the other had several surgeries including open heart surgery. It was really scary for both families but both babies were so much better after their procedures were done. Their recovery, growth, breathing, etc all developed much more quickly. So I guess I want to say that as scary as the surgeries were, they had great outcomes and both babies just celebrated their first birthdays as healthy active little ones!

• My twins were born at 34 weeks and one of them had open heart surgery at 10 weeks old.  He was in the NICU for 2 weeks as a feeder adn grower and was home for 8 weeks.  It is a little different situation because my son's surgery was not very close to his birth, but he did great with the surgery.