Military Families

DH deploying to Afg. Looking for support

I guess I am looking for positive stories from those who have been there or whose loved ones have been there. My DH has been Navy Reserves pretty much from the time we met. I have no experience with deployments of any kind. When I think of Afghanistan,  all I can envision is a scary, awful place. Sorry for sounding so naive. I am freaked to be left alone with a 3 yo and a 1yo. We have no family nearby, and no military network for support. But I am more scared fo the well-being of my husband.Does anyone have any words of assurance or advice for me?

Thank you. 

Re: DH deploying to Afg. Looking for support

• imageAshC311:

My H is in the Army National Guard.  Do you know if his unit has a family readiness group?  I'd get in contact with them and they can help you become more familiar with other family members of guys in his unit.  They'll be a great resource for local support.  I know our FRG is willing to help with anything from a broken toilet to help finding childcare. 

I agree with what this poster said.  As far as your concerns for his safety, that is completely normal.  My DH has never been deployed to Afgan but his cousin who is in the Army National Guard has been deployed 2 times to Iraq and 1 time to Afgan.  He came back safe and sound each time.  I hope that perks your spirits up a little bit Big Smile

Also if you want his spirits to be perked up when he's over there, I suggest sending him care packages full of goodies he can't get over there.  It definitely will boost his morale and keep him going.

• Loading the player...
  • My DH was just in Afg. for 7 months.  Everyone in his unit returned home safe and sound, no injuries or anything.  We were eve able to Skype with him pretty much everyday, mind you he is Air Force, so he was at a base the entire time.  Hope this settles your nerves a bit.