July 2012 Moms
Options

when can newborns leave the house?

i have little experience with mothering humans.

under normal healthy baby circumstances would it be realistic to take a one month old baby to a shore house for a week with my parents?

is the baby allowed to be in a strange house for a week?

is it, the baby, allowed to visit my parents?

do my parents have to be vaccinated against the plague and other baby poisoning diseases (the flu, whooping cough)?

thank you for your advice. 

Re: when can newborns leave the house?

• Options

I took my kid out almost as soon as we got home from the hospital. I went shopping with him, took him to other people's houses, etc. I did ask everyone to wash their hands before they touched him, and not to kiss his hands or face. I was also aware of the vaccination status of the children who were around him. If I wasn't, I probably would not have brought him to visit.

I'm running into the same issue as you now. Due on July 4th and family vacation at the shore starting August 1st. I don't want to go. Not so much for the baby, but I remember how I felt the first month after my c-section and I would rather be in my own home. I can't go in the ocean, and hormones will have me sweating on the beach. No fun! 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options

I plan on vacationing at my parents' shore house with my whole family right around 7 weeks. My best friends brought their 48 hour old baby to my house for a BBQ and Mem Day picnic this year.

Babies aren't loaded bombs. Wink You can take them more or less anywhere, particularly since they just sleep in the beginning anyway. Its more likely that you will be healing from birth, tired, and uncomfortable going out than the baby.

And on vaccines: you'll be more worried about colds and flu (if its winter) than larger diseases. Herd immunity generally works in our advantage in that sense.

• Loading the player...
  • Options