School-Aged Children

Gifts for public school teacher?

DS1 is in kindergarten. I love his teacher and want to get her a Christmas gift but I'm not really sure what to get or how much to spend. I was thinking about having DS decorate a card, some Christmas cookies, and giving her a $25 giftcard to a local bookstore. That way she could spend it on herself or on the class. I also found some cute Frosty the Snowman pencils and I got enough for the class. Does this sound ok? Is it too much, not enough? What is everyone else doing?

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Gifts for public school teacher?

• I am a teacher as well as a mom of two school-aged kids, and I feel like $25 is a lot.  However, books are always appreciated by teachers.

If you can afford it, and you feel comfortable giving that much, go for it.  But know that the teacher would also be fine with the hand-made card and the cookies.  If you have younger kids who will soon be in elementary school as well, you might want to keep in mind that you could be doing this for more than one teacher in a few years, and that $25/teacher really adds up fast. 

Based on myself and my teacher friends, here are some things teachers like the most and least:

Like most:  gift cards to area stores, food (homemade or bought), things made by the kid, heartfelt thank-you notes.

Like least: knick-knacks, "teacher" gifts with apple theme, candles, lotions, clothes/jewelry.

High School English teacher and mom of 2 kids:

DD, born 9/06/00 -- 12th grade
    DS, born 8/25/04 -- 7th grade
  • As a teacher, that gift would be AWESOME to me.  It does seem like a lot, please don't feel like you have to spend that much.  Teachers can be appreciative of lots of gifts.