March 2012 Moms

NBR - Car dead, still owe, what do?

Okay, so on top of being sick, and having to work tonight anyway, AND having midterms this week and next week...

My beautiful 2000 jeep grand cherokee, Jeep, bit it.  His motor is dead.  There isn't a bone yard motor to match in the entire state, and a rebuilt OR having it repaired will cost 5k or more.  I still owe 4k on the loan.  I really REALLY loved this car.

I'm a starving returning student with a Master's student for a husband, and a baby on the way.  And this was our good car.

I have no warranty, no gap insurance, and only $1500 in what was supposed to be baby savings.  The mechanic (most reputable and least expensive in town) says a  wrecking yard will typically pay $300 for it...but the title has to be cleared.  I can't afford the rest of the loan up front.  What do I do?

image  image  image

Re: NBR - Car dead, still owe, what do?

• Is it possible to get by on 1 car?  I think your only option is to cut back as much as possible, continue paying the payments plus whatever you can, get extra income to put towards it, and save up for another vehicle after you get that one paid and gone.
  • First off, I'm very sorry this is happening. I think you should call your bank and see what the next steps might be with the loan (they may be able to reduce the payments). I don't think you should have it rebuilt. GAP insurance would not have helped you so don't worry about that and who knows if a warranty would have. Do you need a car? If so, you may have to get a $1k clunker to get you by. 
  • Loading the player...
  • Wow.  That's quite a conundrum.  Not always my favorite option, but do you have a family member who can help you out with either the repairs or to pay off the loan?  OR can you look out of state or online for the part?  My husband has done that before to fix things on his truck...