May 2011 Moms

happy at your job?

Now that DS has arrived and the school year is well underway I find myself really thinking about my career.  I've been a middle school teacher for 10 years now and I feel like I'm in a rut.  I'm just not into it right now.  It's, of course, spilling over into my home life.  I feel like I worry so much about what goes on at school that my family is not getting the best of me & that's not fair.   IDK if it's the arrival of baby #2, # of years at job, or my age (34yo).  Is anyone else rethinking their careers now that LO is here?  Being a SAHM is not at option for financial reasons.
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: happy at your job?

• yup. Since I've been back from maternity leave there have been some significant budget cuts at my job affecting raises, continuing education, and NO OVERTIME PAY!!!  (we were hourly and recently they switched us to salary).  I most recently did a 9 day stretch with no additional compensation.  I'm looking for an out!!
  • Luckily for me, I love my job (elem teacher). But I've switched grades a lot in the past five years, so that keeps it fresh.  I'd rather SAH, but if I have to work (and i do) then I'm happy I'm teaching.
    imageimage
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • Yup. I work in social work and have been at my position for over four years and it is getting tough to keep getting up to go to work. I wish more than anything that I could be a SAHM but our finances are not where they need to be for that to happen. I am kind of looking for something a little less emotionally taxing now.
    DS1 5/15/11
    DS2 12/20/12