Military Families
Options

How do I know who my LOs pediatrician will be before she even arrives?

I am giving birth at a birthing center.  We are required to tell them who our pediatrician is so the baby can be released.  Since I am new to military life and have had all my experiences with civilian healthcare, I have no idea how to go about taking care of this scenario.
BabyFruit Ticker

Re: How do I know who my LOs pediatrician will be before she even arrives?

• Options

I gave birth at a big MTF, and DS could either be seen at the pedi dept. at that MTF or another military clinic in the area. We're on tricare prime and didn't have the option to go off base.

LO didn't get assigned a pedi until we enrolled him in Tricare.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

• Options
    imageladybugpjb:

LO didn't get assigned a pedi until we enrolled him in Tricare.

This concerns me since they said we couldn't leave the hospital until the ped called to release the baby.

BabyFruit Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • Options

Has this birthing center never had a Tricare patient before? Tricare won't assign a doctor to someone who, according to their records, doesn't exist. LO will not be assigned a pedi until s/he is registered in DEERS and enrolled in TRICARE. 

Go to your Tricare rep and talk to him/her. If need be, have them call your birthing center to explain things to your doctor or midwife.  

Lilypie Maternity tickers
    Lilypie Second Birthday tickers
  • Options