Baby Showers

Baby shower...what do you register for??

Ok, I'm new to this shower business. I had a bridal shower but it was more of a get together of family and friends. My MIL and DH's family are trying to throw me a baby shower and they are really pushing me to register at a few stores (Target, Walmart, etc) because we live 6 hours away and they want gift ideas.

My problem is I've never registered before, and I'm not sure what all to put on it. I know clothes and blankets, stuff like that, diapers and things that aren't too expensive. I'm just curious what all everyone else has put on there? And how expensive of things do you put on there? I mean, does it seem rude to put something on the registry that is like $150 bucks? That seems like a bit much, but again, I have no experience with it!

What do you ladies think??

Daisypath Anniversary tickers Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Baby shower...what do you register for??

• we registered at BRU and target and both places told us to register for everything, because A. whatever doesnt get gifted to you, you get a coupon for X amount off so you can purchase it in the end and B. If its on your registry and you were given it but they just didnt use your reg. or you were given multiples without a gift receipt your reg. would allow you to return it without any issues
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • imageRedheadBaker:

You register for stuff you need for the baby. Get the book "Baby Bargains" if you need help picking out baby gear. 

Some people (myself included) put everything on a registry (or two, to give shower guests shopping options, or better pricing options), and use it as a checklist for themselves. Others don't feel comfortable putting higher-priced items on registries, as they think guests might feel obligated to buy it. 

I put a $189 Chicco Play Yard on my registry, because it's the one I wanted. If nobody bought it, I'd buy it myself. My aunt bought it for me.