Military Families

Marine boot camp

I guess Im not technically part of this group yet but my husband is now at Parris Island for USMC boot camp. He wont be home till the middle of Janurary. I guess what Im wanting is women to talk to. All I have is our 2 1/2 month old son and family/friends who have never been through this.

Re: Marine boot camp

• Boot is hard on a spouse. IMO, the initial separation was harder than any training or even this deployment in the beginning. My advice is pretty much the same that everyone gives; write letters every day & stay busy. Remember to not send him any packages or decorated envelopes and keep the pictures PG. Even if I had a crappy day I tried to keep my letters upbeat. My H said he lived for mail call and it helped him to keep pushing through when I was encouraging.

Good luck!

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • If you have facebook I would also get on that.  Some family member from the Company my husband was in created a page and we all communicated with each other.  It was great to have people to talk to that were going through the exact same thing.  I would also join the PI facebook page.  I know that they sometimes put up pictures of the recruits in Boot (at least the MCRD San Diego page did).
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Loading the player...
  • I went through bootcamp at this time last year and my Marine graduated Jan as well I did it with a 2 year old. Trust me its very hard b/c they can't talk to you only by letters. If you have any questions or worrys just message me or join the facebook page for his company. Its for family
    Lilypie Maternity tickers Lilypie Third Birthday tickers