Working Moms
Options

graduate student moms

Hi everyone!  Just wondering if there are many graduate mommas here! and how are you doing it... my MOT program is 3 years and luckily I don't have to work at the moment, but its not night school or part time, I'm still full time, 4 days a week, 8 to 6.. I'm trying to not go part time because it sets me back an entire year : /  Anyone have any tricks to help organize their lives.. and any pumping at school help?!

Re: graduate student moms

• Options

I'm a professor (not a student), so I might not be much help, but if there is a faculty lounge or something, maybe since you're a grad student, someone would let you pump there--if you have a female mentor you would feel comfortable asking. I pump in my own office, but if I didn't have one, the faculty lounge (where our division's kitchenette is--microwave, mini-fridge, etc., is) is where I would pump.

If your university has a "women's center," I might try there. (I taught at one school where the women's studies department had a women's center with feminist books, resources on domestic violence, basically all kinds of resources for women--and I'm sure that would have been the best place to pump there.) Hope that helps!

MacAndCheese
    Mac and cheese lover!
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

• Options

I am going very part time, but I also am staff at a university. Ditto everything the pp said. I would also add a lot of times the libraries have little study rooms you may be able to pump in. I would definately try to pump as close to your classes as possible. I wouldn't want to walk half way across campus to pump. If one of your classes is near the health center- I would ask there, if one is near like a rec center I would ask there.... there are always little rooms that no one is using in many buildings. Definately get a good cooler to put the milk in. I used this one and I loved it!! It is so compact and the ice pack conforms to the bottles. Good luck!!