May 2011 Moms

BLW and bananas?

I recently posted a video on FB of Madison sucking on a banana and my dad and step mom freaked out and called to tell me that it's dangerous to give babies banana because they could have serious allergic reactions and the seeds in the middle are bad for her and if I give her fruits before veggies she will only like the sweetness of fruits and won't eat healthy veggies or other good foods. From what I read this is old outdated info. Am I wrong?
imageimage

Re: BLW and bananas?

• LOL..  Maybe they would come over and de-seed the bananas for you?  Seriously --- bananas are a staple of first foods 

I did have a good (& reputable) friend tell me to try to do veggies before sweet fruits, but I have no experience or know if that is solid advice.  It can't hurt, I suppose.

AlternaTickers - Cool, free Web tickers
  • Bananas are on the stage #1 foods list, I think they are pretty safe https://wholesomebabyfood.momtastic.com/bananababyfoodrecipes.html

We have been giving our little guy veggies before fruit, but he loves food, so I don't think he's going to be picky once we introduce fruits -- I think he will eat whatever we put near him :)

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • We will probably be doing bananas as the second food. We will prob start with avocados, though.

Lilypie Third Birthday tickersLilypie First Birthday tickers

• imagetheaustins05:
    I recently posted a video on FB of Madison sucking on a banana and my dad and step mom freaked out and called to tell me that it's dangerous to give babies banana because they could have serious allergic reactions and the seeds in the middle are bad for her and if I give her fruits before veggies she will only like the sweetness of fruits and won't eat healthy veggies or other good foods. From what I read this is old outdated info. Am I wrong?