Natural Birth

Placenta Encapsulation

Sounds totally gross and creepy, right?  Might kinda turn your stomach a little?  If I told you there was a pill you could take following your birth that would:

• reduce your risk of baby blues/post-partum depression
  • support and enrich breast milk production
  • decrease iron deficiency (anemia)
  • increase your energy levels
  • help you heal faster
  • help you sleep better

? would you take it?

Who WOULDN?T?

What is this magic pill and where do I get it!?!  What if I were to tell you that its your own placenta that provides you all those benefits?  In most cases you don't have to do anything - just hire someone to come do it for you.  It takes out the ick factor big time since you don't have to see/hear/smell/do anything.  You just have a jar of pills magically appear.

I wanted to put myself out there for you guys if you have questions about Placenta Encapsulation.  I'm a clinical massage therapist, aromatherapist, birth doula, and placenta encapsulationist.  More and more of my clients are doing PE and everyone has a ton of questions about it. 

From my OWN clients, I've had moms report that post-partum bleeding was minimized, their breast milk came in sooner and there was more of it, their care provider noted a much FASTER uterine healing timeline, they have more energy, sleep better, etc.

So clearly I'm an advocate.  If you have questions, fire away!

Re: Placenta Encapsulation

• I'm planning on doing it since I'm getting what I think is a good deal through my doula ($100, and the doula is free since she's training and one of my closest friends) and because PPD runs in my family...so whatever might help, I'm all for.

My only concern has been if encapsulation is less effective with delayed cord clamping?

• It shouldn't be any less effective with delayed cord clamping.  There is still a fair amount of blood in the cord and the placenta, so you're still getting a very healthy amount of stem cells typically.