Working Moms
Options

Nanny with a question...advice, please!

Hi Ladies,

I am currently a student on my way to being an elementary school teacher. Right now, I work 3 days a week as a nanny for two little boys (almost 6 old Kindergartener and a 2 and a half year old). I will be starting my student teaching in January, which will be full time and require me to quit my job.

When is an appropriate time to tell the parents? My thought is the sooner the better, but I am nervous about this because I know the mom will not take it well. Any suggestions are truly appreciated. TIA.
~ Waiting for our Little Spartan~
Our Baby Boy is due September 8, 2012

Re: Nanny with a question...advice, please!

• Options

Legally you have to give the minimum notice in your contract.  With that being said, I would appreciate if I was given as much notice as possible so I could find alternative care.  It would be nice if I was hiring another nanny if I could arrange for some cross training and some insight from you on how the new nanny Is working, but you would have to be aware that potentially you could be out of a job before January depending on when the new child care provider was available etc..

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker BabyFruit Ticker
  • Options
    Yes, I am aware of that. Fortunately that is not an issue.

I do not have a contract, which is unfortunate, because that would make it easier for me to determine when to say something. I think I'm going to tell them today so they have plenty of time and I no longer have it hanging over my head.
    ~ Waiting for our Little Spartan~
    Our Baby Boy is due September 8, 2012
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    Don't worry too much about the mom not taking it well.  I'm sure she knows that you are in school to be a teacher so she must have realized that you would eventually be leaving her.  I doubt she will be too surprised.  Get it over with sooner rather than later.
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic