Breastfeeding

When to get nasty about not being able to pump at work?? (I am a nurse) LONG

Ok, so I started back to work last week and I am a Lead RN on a VERY busy Post ICU unit.  All I am asking is to be able to pump 2x during my day from 7a-745pm.  I dont get any other breaks besides MAYBE a 15-20min lunch break.  Fellow nurses can probably agree with the fact that we are almost always understaffed and expected to do too much with not enough resources.  HOWEVER, I dont feel like my childs only source of nutrition should be totally disregarded.  So yesterday was unearthly busy.  We took at least 10 admits and I dont know how many discharges.  I had to go to 3 meetings and 2 interviews.  Plus I am working the floor and in charge of everything going on.  I dont even leave to floor when I pump because I cant even hand off my things to anyone.  The is no one to cover for ME.  So I fed/pumped at 5am and then couldnt pump till 1230pm.  Of course it was absolute chaos and the house supervisor (supervises staffing/needs of whole hospital) came around at 6pm with MORE patients for me to take.  I told her I had to pump SOMETHING because I was starting to be in pain.  She was like "well, I dont know what to tell you"...really??  So I got pi$$ed and went in and pumped for 5mins.  Thats all I could do before I was being called out on the floor.  I ended up having to stay late 9pm to finish charting and such because I of course also had to take patients on top of everything else.  I got home about 945 and fed LO and pumped.  So at worked I pumped at 1230(full pump) and 6pm (5min) between the hrs of 5am and 945pm that is NOT enough to sustain my supply and feed my LO.  I am very upset about this and I understand that it is busy and I cant be away alot.  All I am asking for is 2 full pumps (I would like 3).  Has anyone been in this situation?  What did you do? 

Re: When to get nasty about not being able to pump at work?? (I am a nurse) LONG

• I'd get nasty now...