D.C. Area Babies
Options

article: Delay Kindergarten at Your Child?s Peril

https://www.nytimes.com/2011/09/25/opinion/sunday/dont-delay-your-kindergartners-start.html?_r=2

DD's bday is in Oct and we plan to do private kindergarten and then have her test into 1st grade

Re: article: Delay Kindergarten at Your Child?s Peril

• Options

That's interesting. DS is an August baby and I always figured I'd just wait and see if he's ready when we get to that point.  As a K-2 teacher, I have seen very young kids who would have benefited socially and academically from entering later, but I have also seen young ones who did just fine.  Thanks for sharing!

• Options
    I was 4 when I started Kindergarten (my bday is the end of Oct) and I think I am a better person for it.  I may put DS in a private Kindergarten when he's 4, almost 5 since he misses the cutoff by 12 days (his bday is Oct 12th) if it feels right. 
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Loading the player...
  • Options

I'm November birthday and as a child, I always wished I was in the class ahead.  I was just that much further along in the early grades.  My youngest brother is an August baby and while he was intellectually and socially ready for school, he was on the smaller side and I think he would have preferred to be a class behind so he wouldn't be the smallest boy in his class.  That said, each of us thrived.  I do think it's odd when kids turn 7 in kindergarten, I think that's just too old for a young class.  DD and DS are March and January babies so I don't have to worry about the fuzzy lines that late summer/early fall children inhabit.