Natural Birth
Options

Newbie here and question.....

Hello ladies! I've been lurking on here for awhile and have decided to "come out" Smile

This is my first baby and I am set on going the natural med free route...I've interviewed a doula who I liked alot and she has really great reviews.  I asked her if she could lower her price and she said if she did , then the agreement would be that she would just meet me at the hospital (vs her regular services which state she will also labor with you at home before going to the hospital).

So my question is: which do you think is more important?  laboring at home (with the doula) for as long as you can or having the doula at the hospital? I'm just afraid without her at my home, I'll head out to the hospital too early.....thoughts? She did say I can call her while I'm at home and tell her what I'm feeling, etc.  Maybe i'm just overthinking it but wondered what others mama's who've done this think...

Visit The Nest! Visit The Nest!

Re: Newbie here and question.....

• Options

I didn't have a doula (didn't even interview one) so I'm speaking only from what I heard/read from other mommas and from what I know through a friend who is a Doula...

I see them as a 2 part helper...one to help you with positions/breathing/managing the pain of contractions (which, I assume you want to do mostly at home). The other is to be an advocate at the hospital.