High-Risk Pregnancy

cervical length question

At my 24 wk appt I was put on strict bedrest for a shortened cervix (2.2 cm) and a + ffn.  Last week I went back to recheck my cervical length and it was 3.4 cm.  My doctor is having me do modified bedrest this week and then we are repeating the ffn and cervical length measurement this thursday.  He said he was quite surprised at the 3.4 length because the cervix can't really grow in length it was probably just certain factors like the baby putting pressure on it or a full bladder.  Anyway he said if the tests this week look good then we could discuss going back to work.  Should I be worried about going back to work?  I'm a nurse and when I work I'm in charge of two different floors and have to go between both floors throughout the night.  On avg.  I usually walk atleast 7-8 miles/night.  I've noticed a lot of people's measurement's on here fluctuate so I'm worried that as soon as I start to work again the measure is going to drop. 
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: cervical length question

• Personally I would not go back to work and risk it. My cervix has been shortning and growing since 16 weeks. I would just continue with bed rest even though it sucks and get checked weekley. GL
  • Mine was dynamic.  I have a very phsyical job like you do.  Even though mine lengthened on bedrest to above 2.5 in the later 20 weeks, my peri knew if I went back to work it would shorten again.  And over time it shortened again on its own while on bedrest. 

So I did not go back to work.  Only you know what is right for you!

I was out from 23 weeks to 36 weeks.  I never ever regret it.  It lengthened my residency but was worth it a million times over to get to 36 weeks.

Good luck. 

Three losses in 2009; Boy/Girl twins born in 2010 image
  • Loading the player...
  • Your doctor will recommend what he thinks is ok... it's up to you to decide what is BEST for you and your baby!!