Single Parents
Options

Medical expenses as c/s?

I was curious what the protocol is if your ex is responsible for helping with medical expenses. If assisting with DC's medical expenses is ordered as part of your c/s, how do you make sure you receive it? ExH was ordered to pay 50% of medical expenses. He's in prison which makes this impossible right now. I would think that he'll still have to pay it when it gets out, just like the c/s.

Do I just document everything? Report it to c/s? I'm new to all this child support stuff.

TIA

Re: Medical expenses as c/s?

• Options

Here in MN you have two years from when the bill was paid to submit for reimbursement. If I submit to CS they can only take 20% of the amount. I can mail him a certified letter of the affidavit form along with a copy of the bills and request reimbursement from him - he has 30 days from when he received the letter to pay/make a payment arrangement. If he doesn't he can be subject to contempt of court. 

He is required to pay 66% of all uncovered medical expenses - he refuses. I have to pay them and they are affecting my credit because I can't pay them.  So there really isn't much I can do to get him to pay.

He'll still have to help pay for them, though he'll continue to refuse to do so.  

Lilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

In my bag
    d90
    50mm f/1.2 * 28-85mm (Macro) f/3.5-4.5 * 70-300mm f/3.5-4.5
    Opteka Fisheye Adapter * Lightscoop
  • Options

Our agreement says that I carry insurance and pay the first $250 out of pocket medical expenses each year.  After that, XH is responsible for 40% of unreimbursed medical expenses.