Working Moms
Options

Telling the boss about my pregnancy...

Hello there, working moms! 

I am expecting and due in April.  Although I hang out on the April '12 board, I have been lurking on this board a lot because I will be a working mom after my maternity leave (assuming all goes well with this pregnancy, so far so good!).

My question for you is about announcing my pregnancy to my boss.  I am a teacher and just started up for the regular school year this week.  The first few days of inservice went okay, but today I really was starting to fight fatigue, and had to leave a few larger-group meetings to throw up this morning. 

Due to my symptoms, I don't think I'm going to be able to hide this much longer. I actually feel like it's causing more stress to keep this big secret!  Do you ladies have any tips or advice for telling the boss? 

Note:  My boss is also a working mother, and has been supportive of other pregnant workers in the past.  Also, I am planning to take 8 weeks of maternity leave (from the birth until the end of the school year). 

Thank you for your help! 

Expecting our first baby in April 2012! BabyFetus Ticker BabyFruit Ticker

Re: Telling the boss about my pregnancy...

• Options

Congrats.

I would sit down and speak with her asap and let her know that you are pregnant and what your maternity leave plan is. As well, fill her in at the start as to what is going to be expected in terms of doctors appointments and ultrasounds/labs, etc so she knows from the start when to expect you out of the classroom.

This early on, I would probably ask her to keep it quiet until you announce it to your fellow teachers, as this is your excitng news, not hers... however, if you had to leave to throw up this morning I guarantee you that someone already thinks your pregnant.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options