1st Trimester

Trouble sleeping....

So I know when you're in your 2nd/3rd trimester and you've got the belly to work around, sleep can be tough.  However, I'm only 6 weeks and while I'm exhausted to the point of tears during the day I cannot fall asleep for HOURS when I lay down.

I don't have my first appointment with my Dr. until the 14th, but as a teacher I've got the first week now and the stress of that ADDED to being newly pregnant has my head reeling until it's far too late.  I'm worried that this stress and lack of sleep might impact the baby, which makes things worse.

I've always had difficulty with sleep, but I can't take my usual sleep meds with the pregnancy. 

Anyone else going through this while in their 1st trimester???

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

BabyFruit Ticker

Re: Trouble sleeping....

• I'm a teacher as well so I'm not working yet.  I've been falling asleep on the couch EVERY night between 12am-4am.  Then I wake up and cannot get back to sleep until 6:30.  It's ridiculous.
  • Don't know if it does it for you like it does for me, but you can typically safely take Benedryl (sp) while pregnant - I know I took it with my first.  My OB also recommended Tylenol PM in the last trimester (not sure about this early though).  GL.
    Lilypie Second Birthday tickers Lilypie Pregnancy tickers
  • Loading the player...
  • Seems like for the past week I've been in the same boat. It really stinks, but I try to get as much work done as possible while I'm so that when I do finally doze off I can stay out for a while. More like 2am-11am. Thank goodness for working for myself! Although I feel like a huge slacker at times.
    Pregnancy Ticker
  • I am up until 4 am almost every night I sleep until 10 but can't seem to nap I always feel tired, some days a lil dizzy too.  Maybe its practice for when my lil bean arrives.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker