Working Moms

Lurker with a Mat leave/announcement question--Long

Hi ladies!

I'm currently a 4th year teacher that's coming back to a new school this year after a layoff.  Although I'm tenured, since I was out all last year I won't qualify for FMLA which I'm disappointed about but really expected.  Ideally, I wanted to come back next September but realistically, I want/need about 6-8 weeks.  We go back tomorrow so I've been holding back from talking to my principal because I wanted to make sure that I was on our employment system and really staffed before letting them know.  I knew I was pregnant when I accepted the job but I was only 4 weeks and felt that it was way too early to say anything. 

I spoke to our union rep today about my situation and she says that counting all of my sick days, I would only be able to take about a month (if that!!!) off after having the baby.  She mentioned that if I took 10 consecutive sick days, I could possibly be considered AWOL and terminated, so I'd have to play around with sick leave and PB days to break them up.  She also said that if my principal is nice enough he could work around my time so that I'd be able to take off a little longer.   If I were to be terminated, I'd have 10 months to find another teaching position before I'd lose my seniority/pay and it might be hard to secure another position with a termination on my record.

Here's what I need some advice on: 

1.  Do I take the union's advice and wait longer to tell my principal?  My fear is that the longer I wait, the more "upset" he'd be and the less likely to try and work with me so I could take more time.