Multiples

One placenta - not ID?

Any MoMs out there have a single placenta and fraternal children? I know the odds are less than .1%, but I'm curious! Thanks!
Eli and Charlie born at 33w6d image

Re: One placenta - not ID?

• My twins are di/di but anxious to find out if they may be ID (due to only 1 follicle w/ Clomid).

Just curious, does this mean that the placenta fused together (as is the case with my boys but we had an early u/s that showed di/di so OB was not concerned)?  Or is it actually possible to only one have placenta to begin with but the babies still be fraternal?

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • I am not an expert on this at all, but if there is ONE placenta then they are identical, if there are two placentas fused together (looking like one) they could be identical or fraternal.
  • Loading the player...
  • imagetmbuchmann:
    I am not an expert on this at all, but if there is ONE placenta then they are identical, if there are two placentas fused together (looking like one) they could be identical or fraternal.

This is what I thought, but I only know as much about ID's as I've read from here and from Discovery documentaries.

• imagekmb585:

My twins are di/di but anxious to find out if they may be ID (due to only 1 follicle w/ Clomid).

Just curious, does this mean that the placenta fused together (as is the case with my boys but we had an early u/s that showed di/di so OB was not concerned)?  Or is it actually possible to only one have placenta to begin with but the babies still be fraternal?

it's basically not possible to have one placenta and be fraternal. for all intents and purposes. if someone who fell in that .00001% (someone with b/g identical twins, for instance) was on this board, i think we'd know by now. they'd probably have a show on TLC.

How to tell my boys apart

The different types of twins and triplets

Jack, Sydney and Carynne, Annaleigh, JW, Eden...forever in our hearts.