Breastfeeding
Options

how to build freezer supply

Does anyone have any suggestions as to how to start a freezer supply?  Do I need to wait a certain amount of time?  I bf and pump for night time feedings but can't seem to get a supply for the freezer yet...
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: how to build freezer supply

• Options

I never started a freezer supply with DD#1.  But now with baby #2 I have started a collection.  I pump every morning after I nurse her and store that milk.  I get about 2 oz. each morning and I store it in a 4 oz batches or 2 oz. batches.  My collection is slow growing but it now really building up.  I've been doing this since she was 1 months old and now she is 4 1/2 months old.  

GL! 

• Options
    If you don't need one immediately for any reason, I'd say wait till LO is 4w so that your supply can regulate a bit. Then, like pp said, I added a pump session after the first feeding of normal daytime. Some mornings I'm so engorged she only nurses from one breast and then I'll get about 6 oz (4 from the untouched boob as soon as she's done, and 2 more an hour later from the other side). LO is 8 1/2 weeks and I just hit 200 oz. I'm sure that's more than I'll really NEED since when I go back to work I will in theory pump on Monday what she'll eat on Tuesday, but I want to have enough for if my supply tanks or to quit BFing early and keep her going on BM.
    *Married 10.10.08*
    TTC #1 9.09 - BFP#1:2.18.10= missed m/c, D&C 4.16
    BFP#2:10.22.10=Avelin born 7.2.11
    TTC#2: 2.13 - BFP#3: 7.25.13=Kelsey born 3.31.14
  • Loading the player...
  • Options