February 2012 Moms
Options

how do you handle stress?

I work at a VERY stressful job, normally I do great with the stress, I have methods I use to help me relieve the stress, exercising, leaving work at work, pictures on my desk that remind me to relax and a great support system. I have "me" time after work to clear my brain of my day and I have to tell myself I did the best I could do for that day and move on...

Let me give you what info I can about my job, I am a social worker. Needless to say I am often placed in situations where I have to make life altering decisions for my clients, which in turn can lead to bad feelings from families, threats ect. I have a great support system and safety system  through work that takes care of this but I still get stressed about it now that I am pregnant.

The last few days have been particularly hard and the old stress relievers arent cutting it with the added stress of pregnancy. I worry about my stress harming baby, even though doctor isnt concerned, I am.

How do you handle stress? I am open to try new stress busters!

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: how do you handle stress?

• Options

First of all, I admire you. I'm not a social worker, nor do I have plans to become one, but I took an "intro to social work" course at my college just because it's something that really interests me. :) (Psychology/social work/sociology... all so fascinating!) I have a much better idea than I did previously of how demanding a social worker's job can be and a much greater admiration/appreciation of what they do. I cannot IMAGINE how much harder it would be while pregnant.