August 2011 Moms
Options

So now I can be one of "those" moms: Long PIP

You know, those moms that when you tell them you're pregnant they tell you about their labor horror story? well?

So it all started Thursday night (8/4) around 10 pm while I was working. (I'm a nurse that works 7p-7a). I noticed around that time that the discharge that I had been having seemed much more watery but I hadn't noticed any gushes and honestly couldn't really tell if it was fluid or just discharge. I did notice that there was a WHOLE lot more of it because I was going to the bathroom about every 45 minutes instead of the usual 2 hours. Anywho, like a good nurse I continued with my shift and chalked it up to discharge since I wasn't sure. I was having some contractions but nothing intense or measurable and they felt like Braxton Hicks which I've been having since early 2nd trimester, especially while at work. I got off work Friday morning and was still a little concerned about the discharge because it seemed to be like there was more and my back was really beginning to ache, but again I was 9 months pregnant so I kind of assumed that the back pain was due to being on my feet all night so I decided to shower and take a nap and then see what happened. I showered and napped and felt a lot better for about an hour and then began to feel bad again. I was still having contractions but again nothing timeable. I went ahead and decided to call my MD even though I knew they were going to send me to L&D since there was a chance that my water may have broken. MD acted as predicted so I called DH, we loaded the car (just in case) and headed to L&D. We arrived and they tried to test for fluid and got a "well maybe, maybe not" result. (Apparently blood can also change the pH and could make the little paper change colors, and I had some bloody show after the internal when I first got there). I was 3 cm and 80% when I arrived at about 11:30. (I was 2 cm and 60% at my 38 week apt 3 days before).