Pregnant after 35

IUI Question

Posted this on the TTC after 35 and someone suggest I ask this board.  Just got AF this morning after failed IUI #2.  So DH and I are going to take a month off until trying IUI #3 and then not sure if we should move on to IVF.  I have heard that most people move on to IVF after 3 unsuccessful IUIs. Any experience with success after 3 IUIs? 

TTC since 2009 started going to RE 5/2011:
Polyp removed/hypothyriod 6/2011
7/2011 IUI#1 w/ 150 Follistim/Ovidrel trigger BFN
8/2011 IUI#2 w/225 Follistim/Ovidrel trigger BFN
10/2011 IUI#3 w/300 Follistim/Ovidrel trigger (BFP)
beta #1: 195 beta#2: 502
7/2013 Back to RE because my uterus is OLD Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: IUI Question

• I have no experience with IUI but I think I remember my RE  when going over all of our options saying that if after IUI fails 2 times it is time to move on to IVF. It just may be that practice and their philosophy? 

Sending postitive thoughts your way.  I know how hard this is for you and your DH. 

Maybe one of the ladies on here has some better info for you.

Good Luck! 

Lilypie First Birthday tickers
    Daisypath Anniversary tickers
  • According to my RE, it wasn't just the IUI, it was the protocol that we used.  She had said that we would try one protocol for a couple times and then switch it up.  Since we were unexplained and my DH was terrified of multiples, this for us, meant starting with Femara alone.  We did this for 3 cycles, 2 IUI's.  On the second IUI they wanted to move us to injectibles, but DH wasn't ready for that.  If the 2nd hadn't worked, we would have kept going with the IUI's trying different protocols.  However, we also weren't willing/able to do IVF so I know that played into what my RE wanted to do. 

Good luck to you!!!

• Loading the player...