May 2011 Moms
Options

repost: she rejects the boob!.... sometimes :/

I posted this in breastfeeding and the leaky boob fb page too:                                           My 11 week baby girl is with daddy everyday while I work fulltime. I nurse in the morning, evening when I get home, and all night feedings. Daddy feeds baby ebm from a bottle when I'm at work. Recently she's not wanted to nurse in the daytime when I'm home on the weekends. I think she's gotten used to daytime feeds with daddy. Is it worth it to push the breast on weekends or should I just let her stick with the routine? I love nursing and would prefer not to pump on weekends, but don't want to disrupt her pattern unnecessarily. Like I said, she's still happy to nurse morning, evening, and night.
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: repost: she rejects the boob!.... sometimes :/

• Options

(((((hugs))))) I'm sorry.

I was unable to breastfeed, so I am no expert!!

One thing I have learned is that babies thrive and do best on a schedule.  Unfortunately, that schedule works best when done everyday ~ weekday vs. weekend has no significance to them.

If she is nursing the same as every other day, I would keep her on the same weekday schedule.

~~~I am MrsPLW71~~~ Lilypie Second Birthday tickers

My Birth Story
  • Options

For your sake, it's worth pushing the breast. The more you can directly feed her, the better your supply will be. Many moms eventually find that the pump isn't keeping up with the baby - every time you feed her from your breast, you hold that off a little longer.

Make sure you're using the slowest flow nipples you can find on the bottles and don't move her up as she gets older. "Nipple confusion" is actually "bottle preference" - it's easier to drink from a bottle. 

Keep offering, try different positions and locations. If it doesn't work and you have to do the pump/bottle thing, that's fine, but it is worth the effort of trying.

• Loading the player...