Health & Exercise

When To Tell Your Personal Trainer Your Pregnant

I have been working with a personal trainer for almost a year now. I am also a Zumba Instructor. I am very early in my pregnancy, 5 weeks. I do not have my first doctor appointment until 8 weeks. I spoke with my doctor on the phone, who assured me that if I am having no complications, working out and teaching Zumba is okay - to continue as I was doing before I got pregnant. She told me to monitor my heart rate and body temperate and to make sure that I am not ever short of breath.

With that said, we do not plan to tell anyone about our pregnancy until about 10 weeks. Do I tell my personal trainer that I am pregnant? Though her and I are very close, I did not want her being the first to know I was pregnant. But is it more important to tell her to be safe? Advise me please! :)

Re: When To Tell Your Personal Trainer Your Pregnant

• I told mine as soon as I knew.  I didn't have any problem with him being the first to know as I wanted to be safe.

Unfortunately, that pregnancy ended in an early m/c at 7 weeks so I had to untell him only a couple of weeks later.  It sucked for my emotions, but I just texted him, he texted back that he was so sorry, and that was pretty much it.  He was very understanding in the following days and got why I had to take a short break around that time to recover.

Happily, a month and a half later, I was pregnant again and this time it stuck.  I told him again and we worked together to adjust my workouts as necessary.  I was very nauseous and physically weak and tired so adjustments were needed.

He knew we were keeping it a secret until 10+ weeks and it wasn't a problem.  IMO, it's worth it to tell your trainer.  Congrats and GL!

natural m/c 7.1.10 :|: sticky baby 4.25.11 :|: #2 due 5.18.13 BabyFruit Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker