High-Risk Pregnancy

GD: Question about what I eat

Hi,

I'm new to GD and have been testing for one day.  The dietitian had some specific guidelines all hinging on number of calories that equal a starch or veggie etc.  I'm allowed 6 starches a day, and so forth.  So, my question is, if I go over my allowances but still keep my numbers in check, is that ok?!  (I'm within the weigh range guidelines.)  Yesterday I tried to stay within her ranges and was starving all day. For breakfast I tried a whole (woo hoo) English muffin with peanut butter and was 115 two hours later.  Last night I had a cup of ice cream as a snack and my faster number was good.  Is my main goal just to keep my sugars within range or am I missing a piece of this picture?

Thanks!!

Re: GD: Question about what I eat

• Are you monitoring ketones, too?  If you start have small (or more) amounts of ketones, then no you're not getting enough food and that's something to talk to the nutritionist about.  I've found that the first 3-4 days of the diet were tough and I felt hungry a lot BUT my ketone levels were good.  After those 3-4 days I was feeling a lot less hungry as I adjusted to eating less than I usually do.

They do tell me that if I feel hungry, to add more protiens, fats or veggies to my diet.  That usually helps.  Maybe for breakfast you could add an egg?

Sorry you're so hungry  :(

Caleb.02.01.08 | Asher.07.06.09 | Jude.01.19.12
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Lilypie Fifth Birthday tickers Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers
    Lilypie First Birthday tickers

Mama Jan's Kitchen... a food blog
    Follow Me on Pinterest
  • I haven't been told to monitor ketones yet.  I added more starches to keep from being so hungry and I was ok after breakfast.  I just wanted to make sure it was safe for the babe and me to do that - as long as I hit my numbers.
  • Loading the player...