Birth Stories
Options

Redheads and Childbirth

I've been hearing a lot of "stuff" about redheads and pregnancy/childbirth. Are there any redheads out there that can tell me if these are true

1) The old wives/midwives tale that "redheads are bleeders" in childbirth...

2) Redheads do better with certain pain meds used in birth than non redheads

3) Redheads have fast deliveries 

4) How is the down yonder after childbirth? 

Re: Redheads and Childbirth

• Options
    Lambie.Lambie. member
    I am not a redhead but I am an OB nurse. Yes, redheads do tend to have postpartum hemorrhages more than others. On your second point, redheads cam actually be more resistant to anesthesia than others. I can't answer your other questions.
  • Options

True redhead here :)  Can't say I was a "bleeder" any more or less than a woman who had a 9 pound, 7 ounce baby. I had a 3rd degree tear and an episeotomy but I didn't bleed a ton or anything. I didn't have bloody show either. My water broke at 8:00 am, DS1 was born at 7:35 pm--I pushed for 3 hours! I had the staydol (hated it) and felt loopy/drunk like most people normally do. Down yonder is fine, considering the difficult labor I had. 

• Loading the player...
  • Options
    imagemrsaudacious:

I've been hearing a lot of "stuff" about redheads and pregnancy/childbirth. Are there any redheads out there that can tell me if these are true

1) The old wives/midwives tale that "redheads are bleeders" in childbirth...

2) Redheads do better with certain pain meds used in birth than non redheads

3) Redheads have fast deliveries 

4) How is the down yonder after childbirth?