Trouble TTC
Options

Pointless IUI?

I've been over-reading on the internet and am wondering if it was pointless to do the IUI when I did???? Here is the thing, I never get a positive surge on ovulation predictor tests (I do ovulate though) so when I didn't have a positive surge on the 14th day of my cycle my RE had me come in to do an ultrasound. They said it looked like I just ovulated so they wanted to do the IUI, so we did. But...maybe it was too late? Sigh. Maybe I am just bummed and trying to make myself feel better about it not being positive?Sorry on typing everything out..I am still learning the abbreviations for everything.Have a good night!! 

Re: Pointless IUI?

• Options
    Until AF arrives there's still hope! GL!
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options
    I wouldn't think your RE would continue with an IUI if they thought/knew it was too late.  From my understanding they can tell pretty accuratley with a US if you've ovulated/are about to.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options

Try not to over think it.  I try and stay away from looking things up on the internet because they just scare me and make me question my RE.  It is hard not to question your RE at times but just trust that they know what they are doing.  Believe me, I have questioned my RE a few times and found out that I should not do that any more because he has been right every time.

I hope your IUI was perfect timing for you and you get your BFP soon!

• Options

Yes, it's possible that it was too late, but there's also a chance that the egg was still viable for fertilization. I hope that it was the second option!

Would you consider triggering next time so you can have exact timing? I would at least ask about it. 

GL!

"I prayed for this child and the Lord has granted what I asked of him." ~1 Samuel 1:27
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
    "Whatever it takes, we walk together." ~Pittsburgh Penguins
    My IF-turned-baby blog
  • Options