Preemies
Options

Peeking in.... Moms of 32'ish weekers ????

Hi Ladies, I was just wondering if those of you that has 32'ish weekers would share your experiences?? I usually post on the multiples board, but w/ recent events (admitted to hospital, dilating cervix & on IV mag) thought I would prepare myself for my LO's arrival sooner than later. Also just wondering if you decided to pump/ breastfeed, how long was it before you were able to put your LO to the breast? (FWIW I worked as a Respiratory therapist in a level III (some states call it level IV) NICU for 7 years & then now am a Speech Pathologist working w/ patients w/ swallowing problems, so the medical aspect of things I fully understand - it is just so surreal to be on the MoM/patient side of things now.) Thanks so much in advance!
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Peeking in.... Moms of 32'ish weekers ????

• Options
    Well my daughter was 33 weeks exactly when she was born and it took me about 2 weeks into her NICU stay to be able to breastfeed her. Thankfully we had a pretty uneventful stay. She was there for 32 days and was on an apnea moniter for about 7 weeks. I had sever pre-e so im not to sure on the dilating cervix part but I wish you all the best and a short uneventful stay!
    Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Premature Baby tickers
  • Options
    My boys were born at 33 weeks. Baby B had problems that stemmed from my labor, but Baby A had an uneventful stay. He was on CPAP for just a couple of days and was tube fed for a couple of weeks before I was able to put him to breast. He had no trouble at all with being breast fed, other than staying awake:) I hope that you keep that baby in as long as you can, but if you can't that you have an uneventful NICU stay:) I'll send up a prayer for your lo!
  • Loading the player...
  • Options