Eco-Friendly Family

Airtravel...is it just me?

Or are prices insanely high to fly now? I used to get tix home for the holidays around $300. Now...it's well over $600 per seat, not including taxes and bag fees. For two people...not yet including a LO seat...there's no way we will ever be able to save up for a vacation of our own unless we forgo seeing family. Wonder if it's all inflation. Though traveling is anti-EFF...maybe we'll just stay home this year. 

Just whining. (and making a concerted effort to help speed up the board ;)

Lilypie Third Birthday tickersLilypie First Birthday tickers

Re: Airtravel...is it just me?

• I'm a corporate travel agent and yes, airfare prices have been insanely high lately!!  It sucks!
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • I agree. I'm scared to look for tickets for our Dec/Jan time frame cross-country flight. When I can't even get a direct flight from DC to FL for less than $200 on a random, off-peak, weekend, I know I'm in trouble.

• Loading the player...
  • Yeah, flights have definitely gone way, way up. I remember the good old days when I could buy a round trip ticket to Vegas from my hometown in CA for $70. It was awesome.

Now it's soooooo expensive. I just shelled out $1,000 for tickets to WI for a wedding and $600ish for tickets back to my hometown for my brothers wedding. We didn't even buy LO a ticket since the flights were so expensive. I'm hoping there will be extra space on the plane and we can get him a comp'd ticket. I've had pretty good luck with that in the past. When I check in at the airport I just ask them  if they have an extra seat on the plane that DS can have. It has worked more often than not. One time they told me they thought I could have one but wouldn't know until a few minutes before boarding because the flight was really full but not at capacity (he got a seat). But I think probably 7 out of 8 flights I've gotten him a comp'd ticket.