High-Risk Pregnancy

GD- Insulin or Glyburide?

My diabetes counsler is recommending Glyburide 2.5mg with dinner because Im unable to control my morning Blood sugars, which generally are around 109-112.  My Dr. is calling in the rx this evening.  But of course when I got home I googled it and now Im reading that its NOT "officially" endorsed YET to treat GD.

Is anyone on this as opposed to insulin?  Both are fine because they do not penetrate the placenta, but Im wondering if I should just do the insulin then? 

A little nervous...

thanks! 

Re: GD- Insulin or Glyburide?

• I was told that glyburide wasn't ideal for treating high fasting sugars because of the time frame in which it releases. My doctor prefers insulin in most cases anyway. I'm by no means an expert, that is just what I was told. If you're nervous, I would call and get an explanation of why they prefer the glyburide over insulin.
    Annelise 3.22.2007 Norah 10.24.2009 Amelia 8.7.2011
  • I personally, and all of the doctors who have treated me during both GD pregnancies, prefer insulin. A) It is approved for use in pregnancy and proven safe - it's already something your body produces naturally and B) You can have much better and more precise control with insulin because you can inject when you need it vs. taking the glyburide and hoping your body releases it at the right time.

Talk to your doctor. They should explain why they are choosing glyburide over insulin, and if you're nervous you can discuss pros and cons of trying insulin instead.

Mama to two sweet girls
    DD1 Feb 2010
    DD2 Sept 2011

Pregnancy Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • I took glyburide and didn't have any problems with it. It took it before bed though, not with dinner.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

BabyFruit Ticker
    imageimageimage