Baby Showers

new to board- no registry?

This is my first time on this board, so I apologize in advance if this is one of those questions that gets asked all the time. I'm having at least one shower given by my church and my mom has told me there will be another one given by family and friends. My question: is it necessary to have a gift registry? Do people expect one? I tried starting one last night online for Target, but I just don't know. I feel silly saying buy this bottle cleaning brush or this certain thermometer. Anyone else not doing a registry? This is my first baby so I'm starting out with basically nothing, so I feel like anything would be awesome.
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker CafeMom Tickers Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Re: new to board- no registry?

• You don't have to do one, but they are usually nice so you get some of the stuff you need.

Do your friends and family usually register? It's pretty standard for my circle, but if it is not common in yours, then I think you can easily skip it.

Lilypie Third Birthday tickers Lilypie Maternity tickers
  • I agree that it's not exactly necessary (and if your family is like mine they won't shop off of it anyways), but it is a nice resource to have for yourself if nothing else so that you know that YOU have everything that you need for baby. If you don't register you are likely to end up with a bunch of clothes, stuffed animals & blankets. If you're perfectly okay with that then I'd say you're all good.
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic Round 1, C 18 months =) Round 2! TTC #2, Cycle 1 image Oversharer extraordinaire:Blog
  • Loading the player...
  • I would probably recommend registering. Worst case scenario, no one purchases anything on it.

Maybe do some research on what products are deemed to be the best. Pack n Plays, bassinets, swings, pumps, bottles, etc. You aren't saying you must buy these things...but a registry is at least an idea to get someone going in the right direction.