Military Families

Driving across the country with an infant...advice please

I wanted to ask this question early on because all the time I think about it is causing me so much worry.  My husband and I will be moving from North Carolina to California next year for our next duty station with a baby only 3-5 months old.  We are going to be driving a UHaul (I heard there are ones you can get a carseat in) and I will be breastfeeding.  Now, if we have to stop every 2 hours to breastfeed, it will take us forever to get there.  Could I pump ahead of time and pack a cooler of breast milk (frozen) and thaw out as I need them?  Then, there is the issue of warming it up....don't I have to warm it up?

Is there some common sense stuff I am missing here?

Sorry, I am a total newbie to all of this and I don't have my mom to ask so I am relying on some gals with experience. :)

BabyFruit Ticker

Re: Driving across the country with an infant...advice please

• The average for babies to eat is every 3 hours I thought. I guess it depends on how much you are feeding LO when he/she is that old.

I will be driving (moving) from Washington DC to Phoenix AZ in October and with a 3 month old as well, I was planning on pumping some and putting them in a cooler just with ice. Only a couple frozen ones, but mainly with just cold ones.

I am planning on using the playtex drop ins and so all it takes to heat up the milk would be warm water running over the top of the bag. I was maybe thinking of using a thermos with boiling water so that it stays warm for atleast a while. Then we would just have to stop at reststops/ fast food places for the other breaks.

• NSLNSL member