3rd Trimester

? about how to do freezer meals

I've never done freezer meals before and actually I don't cook but would like to learn and what better time than now.  So when you do freezer meals do you cook them all the way then freeze then reheat somehow when you're actually ready to eat?  If so how do you know how long to reheat?  Also what do you store them in and what do you put in to reheat?
Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers Lilypie Second Birthday tickers

Re: ? about how to do freezer meals

• I've never done freezer meals either, but I have also been doing research. This is a blog I've found extremely helpful.

https://moneysavingmom.com/downloads/freezer-cooking-planners

• As far as how to make/how to re-heat, it depends on what you're making.  I store them in those disposable oven safe dishes that usually come with lids.  The entire reason I freeze meals at all is for the fact that there is little/no clean up, because that's the WORST part about cooking!

I keep a word document of my recipes, and here are my favorites:

BAKED ZITI

1 box ziti

? lb groundbeef

?onion, finely chopped

1spoonful of minced garlic

1(23oz) jar of spaghetti sauce

?cup Parmesan cheese

MAKE AHEADPREPERATION

-Cook pastaaccording to package.

-In saucepan, brown onions, garlic, andground beef.  Add spaghetti sauceand season to taste.

-Mix pasta and sauce together large mixingbowl with Parmesan cheese.

-Place in10x10 oven safe dish; allow cooling, and put in the freezer.

FINALPREPERATION

-Remove fromfreezer and allow thawing overnight in refrigerator.

-Preheat oven to 325.  Cook for 30 minutes.  Top with Parmesan and mozzarella andcontinue to cook for 15 minutes or until cheese is melted and pasta is heatedall the way through.

CHICKEN POT PIE

1(10.75oz) can Campbell?s condensed cream of chicken soup

1(10oz) package frozen mixed vegetables, thawed.

1cup cubed cooked chicken

?cup milk

1egg

1cup all-purpose baking mix

MAKE AHEADPREPERATON