Military Families

Not a mil family yet, but need advice

My DH is 31 and just graduated college.  He has had a tough time finding a job in his career field and we have discussed him joining the military...specifically the USAF.  His dad is an AF Academy grad and a retired pilot.  I did not grow up in a military family so this would all be new to me.  Just looking for advice on what to expect if this does become a reality. 

Background info on me.  We have a 18 month old DD.  I have a BS degree in Business but recently quit working to stay home with DD.  DH has a training and financial background and business degree.  I have lived in VA my whole life.

Thanks in advance.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker image
PCOS, Ectopic & M/C of twins October 2010, Currently TTC #2

Re: Not a mil family yet, but need advice

• I don't know nearly as much about the AF as the Army, but I can tell you that experiences differ greatly depending on the job he wants/gets and the different bases.  Nobody can really tell you what to expect, except for very general things like he WILL be deployed at some point.  Also, while I don't know much about the recruitment side of things at this point in time, I've heard that it's getting more difficult to join, especially in the AF.  While it shouldn't disqualify him, his age may play against him, so be prepared for that.