St. Louis Babies

Any such thing as paid maternity leave!?

Hi ladies!This is my first post and I apologize if my question has been discussed before. I am still pretty new to this site and getting used to where info I am looking for is.My question, does anyone out there work for a company that offers any kind of paid maternity leave? I don't need to know he company name, just curious if this kinda thing happens in the US! My husband and I are talking about having kids and I am trying to get my ducks in a row. I started researching my companies policies, I am allowed 12 weeks, all unpaid. I wouldn't assume that I would be paid for this leave, but wondered if this is the norm.Thanks in advance for anyone who answers!

Re: Any such thing as paid maternity leave!?

• We too are able to put our sick days towards our maternity leave.  I am a teacher and due in mid-August (actually I'm due the first day of school) and I will be putting my sick days that I have "banked" from the last 4 years towards my leave.  This will cover about 5 weeks and then the rest is unpaid.  
  • My company does. But only 1 week is actually paid maternity, then we use the rest as paid short term disability and vacation/sick days. It depends how long you've worked there, but I've been with them for 4 years and should have between 11 and 12 weeks paid, depending on how much vacation/sick time I have left when the baby's born. 

I believe this is how a lot of companies work. I know my husband's company gives the new moms 8 weeks paid. Then, if you want the final 4, they are like 60% or 80% paid.

• Loading the player...
  • imagemands629:

FMLA says that your employer is required to provide you with job protection for 12 weeks of unpaid leave if you have a qualifying life changing event (regardless of if you are male or female) and if you work for a company with (I think) 50+ employees.