Multiples

How long are they in premie clothes??

I am trying to get clothes gathered for the boys when they get here.  My older 2 were 8lbs each so I have no experience with premie clothes.  I know every baby is different but does anyone have an idea how long twins are in premie size clothing vs newborns?

TIA!

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: How long are they in premie clothes??

• cadencaden member
    Mine were born at 35w and were in preemies for 2 weeks. They were 5lbs & 4#11oz
  • Not all twins will need preemie clothes.  My girl was pretty small about 5 lbs and 1 oz. when we left the hospital, and my boy was right around 6 lbs. when we left.  The were both swimming newborn clothes, but they were actually too long for preemie stuff.  They were born 19 and 19.5 in.  We just let them swim for a while in the clothes, and by about 2 weeks, they were fine in newborn stuff.

Here were two idea I had for preemie stuff.  1)  Wait till they are born. If you need preemie clothes have someone go to the store and buy a few preemie sleepers while you are still in the hospital.  2.)  Buy some preemie items before they are born, but keep the reciepts.  If you end up not needing them you can return them. 

We actually had a few preemie sleepers that were hand-me-downs from a friend, but ended up not needing them. 

Hope this helps.

sara Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • My girls were born at 34 weeks and weighed 4# 14oz and 5# 6oz, and were in preemie clothes for close to a month, although they were also able to wear some of the smaller NB stuff for the last half of the month.  We had 2 preemie sleepers each, and a preemie set from Carters that had I think 5 onesies and 2 pairs of pants.  We also had a couple of NB gowns that we used too.  This was plenty for us, since we had spitty babies and did wash often.