Health & Exercise

Horseback Riding during Pregnancy

Hi girls!  Newbie here but I have a question.

I have been riding the last 8 years of my life and can't imagine not having my barn time.  I mostly ride english and my mare is pretty smooth.  I've had her for just over a year, so I know her well.  I have ridden probably a dozen times during my pregnancy already because I only found out 3 days ago that I am expecting.  Now, I am feeling that maybe I should be more cautious?  We mostly do walk/trot flatwork.  I probably won't jump her until after the baby since she gets super excited.

Any advice or personal experience with riding and pregnancy?  Please and thank you! 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Horseback Riding during Pregnancy

• I wouldn't stop riding, I would just ride more lightly, maybe A LOT more walk than trot.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • My doc said it would be safe you just have to ensure you won't get bucked off.
  • Loading the player...
  • Riding is fine - just don't fall off! HA! That's what my OB said anyway.  I am 17 weeks and I have been riding this whole time.  I stopped cantering with my BFP so I work on walk/trot/lateral movements etc.  I am going to stop riding next week, but mostly just because of my comfort level and pressure from other people.  If I owned a horse though, I'd definitely still be out there.
    Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • Oh good!!!! I didn't want to quit unless I really needed too.  My first appointment isn't for a few more days.  Obviously, I'll be sure to talk with my Dr about it more in depth, but until then, I will keep riding :)    Thanks so much for your thoughts girls!