Birth Stories

Garrett Jacob: repeat c/s birth 4/3/11 (long)

I have to type this quick- I'm still learning to balance my time between 2 kids.

My l&d w/ DD was hell- water broke, never went into labor and was given pitocen, after 23 hrs of contractions from HELL b/c I had TWO epi's that failed AND I had failed to progress beyond 6cm .... I had a c-section.

Per OB's rec and me not wanting to go through that again we opted for a repeat c/s w/ DS. It was a completely different experience both good and bad. Prior to the c/s it was very relaxing- I had slight anxiety about "surgery" again but overall felt good. 

I opted to walk to the OR- which was a much longer walk than I expected. Walking into the OR opposed to already being numb on a bed was pretty scary. There were a few people in there when I got there but not too many. They got me up onto the table and I did a quick scan of the room. To my left was a lady with her back to me, facing a long line of surgical trays stacked with huge surgical tools which she was counting. Slowly more and more people started to trickle into the room.

Behind me was the anesthesiologist who met with me prior, a younger girl who was either new or a student, and to my right was another anesthesiologist. I felt like his job was to keep me relaxed while they did my spinal. I have to mention that he placed his left hand on my right shoulder and kept it there the entire time. I found this very comforting. 

So they attempt my spinal, "the first shot is to numb you" I'm told. Silence. She missed. I could feel her trying to force it into my back which is a feeling I cannot describe. The guy whom I "thought" was doing my spinal tells her what she needs to do and they try again.. and again.. and again. FIVE TIMES! Five shots to numb me, and five attempts to get the spinal in. With each attempt I started to get scared that it wouldn't work or even worse- it wouldn't work properly.